Created March 4, 1837 Welcome to Stephenson County, Illinois! Welcome to Stephenson County, Illinois!
County Clerk and Recorder
· Birth Records
· Death Records
· Marriage Licenses
· Marriage Records
· Registration of Notary Commissions
· Delinquent Taxes
County Officials
Precint Committeeman
Recording Fees
E-Pay Records
Raffle Licenses
Real Estate Records
· FAQs
Registration of Assumed Names (DBAs)
Forms
Freedom of Information Act
Organization Chart
Elections
PTELL Information
Contact Us

Vital Records/Certified Copies

Certified copies of birth, death and marriage records of persons who were born, deceased or married in Stephenson County may be obtained from the Office of the Stephenson County Clerk.

Please note: Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding vital records. Under Illinois State Law (410 ILCS 535-Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to birth, death or marriage certificates. The Stephenson County Clerk’s Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois law. Vital records are not considered public information, nor are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.

Birth Records

Q.
Who may obtain birth records?
A.
  • The record can be released to the person named on the record, if 18 years of age or over
  • The parent, if the name appears on the birth certificate as the mother or father
  • A legal guardian who possesses guardianship papers that are signed by a judge
  • A legal representative who is representing the person named on the birth certificate or is representing his/her parents
  • A court order
Q.
What identification is required?
A.
Acceptable forms of identification include one of the following picture ID:
  • Illinois driver’s license
  • Illinois State identification card
  • Out-of-state driver’s license or ID Card
  • U.S. military ID Card
  • U.S. immigration card
  • Illinois public assistance ID card
    OR
    Two forms of ID that contain the current name and address, such as mail, social security card, checkbook or utility bills
Q.
What is the fee?
A.
$16.00 for the first copy and $3.00 for each additional copy of the same record when purchased at the same time. Payment must be made with a money order, cashier's check or cash.
Q.
How can I obtain a birth record online, by mail or by phone?
A.
  • To request a record online Click Here.
  • To request a record by mail, the applicant must send a signed written form. Click here to obtain a mail-in form. The request must include the person’s name at birth, date of birth and parents’ names with mother’s maiden name. The request must be signed by the applicant and can only be sent to those who are entitled to obtain a copy. The required fee should also be included along with a photocopy of your valid driver’s license, State I.D. or two forms of identification with your current name and address on them. Mail your request to the Stephenson County Clerk’s Office, 50 W. Douglas St., Suite 500, Freeport, IL 61032.
  • To order by phone you may call 815-235-8289 and relay all of your information. We will prepare your documents for pickup.
Q.
What birth records are on file in Stephenson County?
A.
Birth records on file in the Stephenson County Clerk’s Office go back to 1878.
Q.
What if the birth occurred in another county or state?
A.
Try other county and state links. You can also order from all 50 states by clicking here.
Q.
Are birth records available for genealogical purposes?
A.
Yes, but only those that are 75 years or older. They may be purchased at a cost of $10.00 and are stamped “For Genealogical Purposes Only.” Click here for more information on genealogy in Illinois and in other states.

Death Records

Please note: Absolutely no information can be given over the telephone regarding death records. Under Illinois State law (410 ILCS 535—Vital Records Act) only specific individuals have legal access to birth, death or marriage certificates. The Stephenson County Clerk’s Office will issue certificates to authorized individuals only. To do otherwise is a violation of Illinois law. Vital records are not considered public information, nor are they subject to the Freedom of Information Act.

Q.
Who may obtain death records?
A.
Anyone may obtain a copy of a death record.
Q.
What identification is required?
A.
No identification is required.
Q.
What is the fee?
A.
$20.00 for the first copy and $7.00 for each additional copy of the same record when purchased at the same time. Payment must be made with a money order, cashier's check or cash.
Q.
How to obtain a death record online, by mail or by phone?
A.
  • To request a record online Click Here.
  • To request a record by mail, the applicant must send a signed written form. Click here to obtain a mail-in form. The request must include the deceased person’s name and date of death. The request must be signed by the applicant. The required fees should also be included. Mail your request to Stephenson County Clerk’s Office, 50 W. Douglas St., Suite 500, Freeport, IL 61032.
  • To order by phone you may call 815-235-8289 and relay all of your information. We will prepare your documents for pickup.
Q.
What death records are on file in Stephenson County?
A.
Death records on file in the Stephenson County Clerk’s Office go back to 1878.
Q.
What if the death occurred in another county or state?
A.
Try contacting the other county or state links.

Marriage Licenses

Q.
How can we obtain a marriage license?
A.
  • You must be getting married in Stephenson County.
  • Both parties need to be present. Applicants are encouraged apply by 4:00 pm due to processing time. Please come to the Stephenson County Clerk’s Office, 50 W. Douglas St., Suite 500, Freeport, IL.
  • You must show some type of identification with your birth date on it, preferably a driver’s license or a state ID.
  • The fee is $55.00 payable by money order, cashier's check or cash.
  • You must apply for the license at least one day in advance and no more than 60 days in advance.
  • No blood test is required.
  • Information required by both parties
    1. Your dates of birth, state of birth, social security numbers and occupations.
    2. Your parents full names (including mother’s full maiden name) city and state of both parents if living, and the states in which the parents were born.
    3. If either party has been previously married, that party will need to know the exact month, day, and year along with the county and state of the dissolution or death of the previous marriage.

If the bride or groom is a minor (16 or 17 years old):

  • Both parents are required to be present with identification and will have to sign a consent form.
  • If one parent cannot be located, then the other parent will need to sign an affidavit attesting to that fact.
  • A bride or groom under 16 years of age is not eligible to apply. However, a judge can issue a court-ordered marriage.
Q.
What if the bride and groom want to get married by a judge?
A.
  • To get married by a judge, you must make an appointment by calling 815-599-8415 or 815-801-8305.
  • You must pay a $10 fee to the circuit clerk prior to appearing before the judge.

Marriage Records

Q.
Who may obtain marriage records?
A.
Anyone may obtain a copy of a marriage record.
Q.
What identification is required?
A.
No identification is required.
Q.
What is the fee?
A.
$16.00 for the first copy and $3.00 for each additional copy of the same record when purchased at the same time. Payment must be made with a money order, cashier's check or cash.
Q.
How do I obtain a marriage record online, by mail or by phone?
A.
  • To request a record online Click Here.
  • To request a record by mail, the applicant must send a signed written form. Click here to obtain a mail-in form. The request must include the bride and groom’s names, date of marriage or approximated date and year of marriage. Mail your request to Stephenson County Clerk’s Office, 50 W. Douglas St., Suite 500, Freeport, IL 61032
  • To order by phone you may call 815-235-8289 and relay all of your information. We will prepare your documents for pickup.
Q.
What marriage records are on file in Stephenson County?
A.
Marriage records on file in the Stephenson County Clerk’s Office go back to 1837.
Q.
What if the marriage occurred in another county or state?
A.
Try these other county and state links. The state has online records available in the Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763–1900. You can also order a record from another state.
For more information, please call 815-235-8289 or come to the County Clerk’s Office in the Stewart Centre, 50 W. Douglas St., Suite 500, Freeport, IL 61032

Civil Union Licenses

Q.
How can we obtain a civil union license?
A.
  • You must be getting united in Stephenson County.
  • Both parties need to be present. Applicants are encouraged apply by 4:00 pm due to processing time. Please come to the Stephenson County Clerk’s Office, 50 W. Douglas St., Suite 500, Freeport, IL.
  • You must not be related.
  • You must show some type of identification with your birth date on it, preferably a driver’s license or a state ID.
  • The fee is $55.00 payable by money order, cashier's check or cash.
  • You must apply for the license at least one day in advance and no more than 60 days in advance.
  • No blood test is required.
  • Information required by both parties
    1. Your dates of birth, state of birth, social security numbers and occupations.
    2. Your parents full names (including mother’s full maiden name) city and state of both parents if living, and the states in which the parents were born.
    3. If either party has been previously married, that party will need to know the exact month, day, and year along with the county and state of the dissolution or death of the previous marriage.

If the either party is a minor (16 or 17 years old):

  • Both parents are required to be present with identification and will have to sign a consent form.
  • If one parent cannot be located, then the other parent will need to sign an affidavit attesting to that fact.
  • A partner under 16 years of age is not eligible to apply. However, a judge can issue a court-ordered union.
Q.
What if the couple wants to get united by a judge?
A.
  • To be united by a judge, you must make an appointment by calling 815-599-8415 or 815-801-8305.
  • You must pay a $10 fee to the circuit clerk prior to appearing before the judge.

Civil Union Records

Q.
Who may obtain civil union records?
A.
Anyone may obtain a copy of a civil union record.
Q.
What identification is required?
A.
No identification is required.
Q.
What is the fee?
A.
$16.00 for the first copy and $3.00 for each additional copy of the same record when purchased at the same time. Payment must be made with a money order, cashier's check or cash.
Q.
How do I obtain a civil union record online, by mail or by phone?
A.
  • To request a record online Click Here.
  • To request a record by mail, the applicant must send a signed written form. Click here to obtain a mail-in form. The request must include both partners names, date of civil union. Mail your request to Stephenson County Clerk’s Office, 50 W. Douglas St., Suite 500, Freeport, IL 61032
  • To order by phone you may call 815-235-8289 and relay all of your information. We will prepare your documents for pickup.
Q.
What civil union records are on file in Stephenson County?
A.
Civil union records on file in the Stephenson County Clerk’s Office starting as of June 1, 2011.
For more information, please call 815-235-8289 or come to the County Clerk’s Office in the Stewart Centre, 50 W. Douglas St., Suite 500, Freeport, IL 61032

Registration of Notary Commissions

  1. Applications are available at the Secretary of State’s Office or you may click here to download one. A Notary Application Checklist and the Notary Handbook are also available for your use by clicking on the name. After downloading and printing the application for a commission as a notary public, please complete and mail the application as instructed by the secretary of state.
  2. The secretary of state will send the notary commission certificate to the county clerk.
  3. Upon receipt, our office will notify you that you must register your signature either by coming in to the County Clerk’s Office in the Stewart Centre, 50 W. Douglas St., Suite 500, Freeport, IL 61032 or by sending your signature through the mail. There is a $5.00 fee if you elect to sign in person or a $10.00 fee if you send it through the mail. Should you elect to send in your signature, mail it to the Stephenson County Clerk’s Office, Stewart Centre, 50 W. Douglas St., Suite 500, Freeport, IL 61032
  4. You will receive your certificate when you come in or it will be mailed to you if you elect to send in your signature.

For more information, please call 815-235-8289 or come to the County Clerk’s Office in the Stewart Centre, 50 W. Douglas St., Suite 500, Freeport, IL 61032

Delinquent Taxes

  • For specific information about the amount you owe, call 815-235-8289.
  • No personal checks are accepted for payment of delinquent taxes. Payment can be made with cash, money order, cashier’s check or a certified check made payable to the Stephenson County Clerk.
  • Installment payments cannot be made. The amount due must be paid in full.
HOME | CONTACT US | LEGAL DISCLAIMER | © Stephenson County 2014